Liittle Rascals
Last Monday I babysat Hallie so Dan could take his kids to see Skyfall. I was a little nervous since I’ve never taken care of two babies at once, but I figured if Emily could take care of twins and be home with them 24/7 for the first several months of their lives, then I could survive a few hours with two kiddos. 😉

20121115-141713.jpg
Hallie is a little over a year old and boy is she a smart little cookie! She is so quick to understand things. I showed her how to operate all of Owen’s toys (that are meant for older kids), and she instantly understood how to work them.

20121115-141500.jpg
The three of us had a lot of fun playing around. Owen and her really got along well and actually shared toys. 🙂

20121115-142541.jpg
I think he was a bit surprised by her tho, cus she was climbing onto everything! The chair, the rocking chair, the couch, Owen’s toy table, the coffee table, she basically tried to climb onto anything she could.

20121115-142641.jpg
One thing that really surprised me was how she gave me all of the toys and books. Over and over again. She kept putting them in my lap, so I got her back and gave her all of the toys 😉

20121115-142929.jpg
And with that I finally got her to laugh!! Talk about a tough critic! Owen is so different cus he will laugh at anything. You just look at him and he laughs. Hallie on the other hand was tough for me to make laugh. She’d smile but I finally got her to laugh when I piled all of the stuffed animals on her! 😀
All in all we had a great few hours, and most importantly I’m so happy that Owen and her were able to spend some quality time together. After all, he is her uncle! 😉

20121115-143402.jpg

20121115-143413.jpg

9 Month Checkup
Yesterday morning Owen had his 9 month checkup. We had a questionnaire packet to fill out about how he’s developing socially, verbally, and physically, and he is right on track (if not a lil advanced) for his age!! The doctor was really surprised at how social he was/is and said that most babies get anxious when others hold them at this age, but Owen was totally fine. He gets to interact with other babies and adults at the gym and church, and was introduced into that environment at an early age, so I think that plays a big part in him being so comfortable around others.

The doctor also made a comment about how happy he is. It’s so true, he is a happy little guy! As long as he can roam around, has a clean diaper, a full tummy and isn’t tired, then he has a smile on his face.

We then talked about what he eats, if we brush his teeth yet, and his lingering diaper rash.

Ok, we don’t brush his teeth. I know, I know. He only has two teeth plus 3 tips sprouting out, but I still feel bad that we don’t clean them. She highly recommended that we start brushing twice a day. So after the appointment we went over to Safeway and bought him his very first toothbrush!! It’s blue and has Winnie the Pooh on it. 🙂

20121115-225214.jpg
As far as the diaper rash…ever since Owen started teething he has had a lingering diaper rash. That thing is so stubborn and will not go away!! 😡 We have tried various creams and ointments, going diaper less, giving him warm baths, just about everything. Some days it’s almost gone and some days it’s pretty bad. Pretty bad = a little bleeding. Luckily he hasn’t gotten blisters or anything like that. But still, I HATE seeing him in pain and seeing him bleed. 😦 So I asked the doctor for advice because I knew something must’ve been wrong. I mean, Owen never had diaper rashes before he started teething. Not one, and now he can’t get rid of one?? Doesn’t that seem odd?? The doctor took one look and said it looked like a fungal infection, a yeast infection. She said they’re common with babies, and proceeded to prescribe a cream that should make it go away in about a week’s time. We’ll try it out and hopefully it’ll finally go away for good!

As far as his measurements:
Weight: 19lbs 10 oz
Height: 27 3/4 inches

My favorite part of the appointment, besides knowing that Owen is a healthy lil bub, was at the very end when the doctor was leaving and I told her that he can high five sometimes. She asked for a high five and he gave her one!!

Owen’s favorite part? The toys in the lobby! 😉

20121115-230612.jpg

20121115-230651.jpg

