Several weeks ago I purchased a LivingSocial deal for two 2.5 hour sewing classes. Yes, sewing lol. I’ve always wanted to learn how to sew, so this was a perfect way to learn!

The classes were held at A Common Thread, and the $35 LS deal also bought you a $25 voucher to use at their store for fabric, materials…anything! The other cool part about these classes is that they supplied sewing machines and materials. If you had a sewing machine then you could bring your own. I don’t have one, so this is what I learned on:

20121028-173021.jpg That’s a Janome DC2012. Mom, Dad, Santa, anyone – I’d be happy with a Janome DC2011 or 2010 for Christmas lol! πŸ˜‰

We learned how to thread a machine, how to clean it, and how to work it.

20121028-173955.jpg
Then we made a pincushion/beanbag (mine turned out a bit pathetic cus I ran out of thread and didn’t rethread it properly lol), and then for the second class (after the lunch break) we made another project. I’m not going to say what it was because its going to be my mom’s Christmas present. πŸ™‚ But here’s a sneak peak:

20121028-173528.jpg
No guessing what it is either cus I’m not gonna say! πŸ˜‰

Sometimes LS deals can be kind of a dud. Like one time Dan and I bought one for a sushi restaurant and it was in a terrible part of town, but the food turned out ok. We haven’t been back cus of where it’s at (we literally pulled up to the restaurant, looked at each other, double checked the address to make sure it was correct, and hesitantly walked in lol). This deal, however, was not a dud. Overall I really learned a lot from this class and the instructor, Jan, was super helpful and knowledgable while keeping the class interesting. All of the women working at ACT were very friendly and just so helpful. If/when I get a machine I think I’ll be returning back there for help and supplies!

