Yesterday, Dan drove Owen and I over to The Dalles to see his son, Matt, race. He runs cross country and it’s really fun to cheer him on, and even more fun to watch Dan get excited about watching him race.

20121005-053206.jpg
One of the things I love about Dan is how great of a father he is. He really tries to be there for his kids, even if it means leaving work early to drive 1.5 hours outta Portland just to see his son’s cross country race.

But, this post isn’t about how much I love Dan (sorry Dan, love you! ;*). It’s about what we did after Matt’s race – his daughter and her boyfriend, Sarah and Nick, made us all dinner! It was really yummy and not only that but their daughter Hallie got to play with her uncle Owen!

This is the first time that they’ve really played together since Owen has started to crawl. Hallie is about 5 months older than Owen (making her a year old now – HAPPY BIRTHDAY HALLIE AND SARAH! πŸ˜‰) and she’s already walking running around. I was a little nervous to see how they’d interact because Owen is still pretty small – if he could walk and share toys then I wouldn’t have been as nervous.

20121005-053347.jpg
But they did really well together! Sure, there was grabbing and pulling, but there was also hugging (Hallie can hug!! She is so adorable!) and sharing (she knows how to share sorta!) and my favorite part was when Sarah said “can you give baby Owen a kiss?” And Hallie leaned in and kissed his little face!

20121005-060607.jpg Isn’t she cute? I always tell Sarah this, but Hallie’s eyes look like a dolls eyes!

Last night was also the first time Sarah fed a baby a bottle (she said Hallie never took to one).

20121005-055637.jpgIsn’t she so beautiful?? Dan always says that he can’t believe he made someone so beautiful πŸ™‚

I can’t believe how old Hallie is now! I remember last Halloween when Sarah, Nick, and a very new Hallie came over to Portland and had dinner with Dan and (a pregnant) me. She was so small and fragile. She started crying near the end of dinner, Owen started kicking inside, and I remember thinking that I was NOT ready for a baby lol! Dan and I couldn’t even calm a crying baby, how were we going to raise one?? As the three of them were leaving that night, we smiled and said our goodbyes, then I think I turned to Dan and panicked. I was nervous to even hold a baby, let alone try to calm a crying one; I was not ready to be a mom.

Flash forward a year (thereabouts) and Hallie is walking! And hugging. And has good manners (she can sign “please” and “thank you”). And she doesn’t cry when she wants something, she either says it or signs it. Pretty cool, huh!

Then there’s Owen – he’s definitely not as bad a baby as I was expecting. He is pretty easy going and often times just goes with the flow.

And now they both are playing with each other! I’m so excited for all of the fun times that I hope they’ll have, but still really nervous for all of the trouble they’ll get into together lol πŸ˜‰

20121005-061841.jpg

