Here’s a little secret – I HATE zucchini. I don’t like the texture and how one bite can taste fine, yet the next can taste bitter. That being said, I like zucchini bread (the pieces of zucchini are so small you can’t really taste it lol). One of our neighbors down the street was giving away the excess veggies from her garden for free, so I decided I’d take a couple of zucchini and try out this bread.

Here’s another little secret – I’ve never made any type of bread before. So you can imagine that I was a bit anxious to see how the end product turned out. After finally waiting for it to cool a lil, I tried a piece and it was really good! Then I wrapped some up in foil for Dan to enjoy at work with his morning coffee, and, well, here’s the text he sent me:

20120920-203052.jpg

Zucchini, Carrot, Walnut Bread
Ingredients:
1 1/2 cups flour
1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon baking powder
1 cup chopped walnuts plus 1/2 cup for top
1 egg
1 cup sugar
1/4 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup oil
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 1/2 cups grated zucchini
1/2 cup grated carrots

Directions:
1. Mix dry ingredients (not the sugars) in a bowl and set aside, including 1 cup of walnuts.

2. In a separate bowl, beat egg and add sugars. Then add oil and vanilla and mix until smooth.

3. Stir in vegetables. Then mix in dry ingredients.

4. Pour into greased bread pan. Top with rest of walnuts. Bake 45 to 55 minutes at 350° F until an inserted toothpick comes out clean.

* In the text above if you read my response I start to mention how I had some difficulty making it – I cooked it on 350° for 40 minutes, checked on it and it was all jiggly in the middle but the top was browning nicely. So I cooked it for another 10 min, checked on it and it wasn’t jiggly, but it was still gooey when I stuck a knife in it, and the top was still browning good. Too good. So I bumped down the oven to 325° and cooked it for another 10-15 minutes. It was perfect!

20120920-204746.jpg

