Yesterday my dad took my little sister, Jasmine, Owen and I to the Washington County Fair over in Hillsboro. Even though our brother Ben wasn’t able to make it, we still had a lot of fun!

We used to go to this fair every year, but stopped several years back because all of us kids grew up. So going back this year brought back a lot of memories, plus it was really weird that I was bringing my kid this year. My dad doesn’t go on the rides anymore, instead he watched Owen as Jazz and I went on pretty much every single ride. At first I felt bad that Dad was watching Owen, because I don’t want to burden anyone with him, but Dad seemed really happy.

20120729-100915.jpg
He doesn’t get to see Owen as much as Jasmine or my mom do, and this was definitely the most they’ve interacted, but Owen seems to like my Dad a lot. I mean, he doesn’t fall asleep in just anyone’s arms!

20120729-101336.jpg
Jazz and I went on pretty much all the rides, starting with the fun house:

20120729-104118.jpg
We could not stop laughing from the warped mirrors LOL! After going on a ride called the Viper, which made us feel like we were going to throw up, we decided to take a break and look at all the animals in the barn. There were cows, horses, pigs, alpacas, sheep, goats, bunnies, chickens/roosters, and geese. Many of these animals are in a lot of Owen’s books that I read to him, and we always go over the sounds of what each one makes but it was pretty cool for him to hear them in person. He looked so amazed at all the animals that were making noises, especially the pig that was getting washed up and kept squealing lol. At first he wasn’t sure if he should cry or not, but once he realized that everyone was happy then he seemed more relaxed. We even got to pet some of the animals (tho I didn’t let Owen touch them cus he sticks his fingers in his mouth all the time).

20120729-105247.jpg

20120729-105305.jpg

20120729-105327.jpg

20120729-105340.jpg

20120729-105402.jpg

20120729-105422.jpg

20120729-105434.jpg
The pig butts look so funny, they look like hairy human butts LOL

Jazz and I were ready for more rides, but after a few I started to feel sick lol but it turned out that we only had two more that we wanted to go on, one being the ferris wheel, so duh I’m gonna push through and go on the last two rides. 😉 We went on the ferris wheel last, and I have to agree with Jazz, it was the perfect ride to end the day with.

20120729-110014.jpg

20120729-110022.jpg

This was one of the few times I’ve felt like my old self. Being a mom (or pregnant) makes it tough to go out and do things on a whim. Everything’s tailored to my little guy. Owen and I saw the Dark Knight Rises Friday day and even just going to the movies is a whole ordeal. Gotta make sure to get a bottle ready and that the diaper bag’s organized and full and bring a toy for him but not one that makes too much noise and make sure we leave early enough incase he needs his diaper changed beforehand. Then, during the movie it’s a game of trying to entertain/feed/make sure Owen’s not making too much noise/keeping an eye on him when he wakes up from his nap (if he naps during the movie) to make sure he doesn’t start wailing, all while trying to watch the movie and hoping that we won’t have to leave halfway through incase Owen starts fussing and won’t stop. Much different from going and seeing the midnight showing like I probably would’ve done if I didn’t have a kid. Last night Jazz was telling me how much it must suck to not be able to go out and just do whatever I want. Yeah, sometimes it sucks, but overall it’s all worth it. There will only be around a dozen+ years of this, then pretty soon Owen will go off and do his own thing. That’s a pretty short amount of time, if you think about it, and even though it may suck at times, I just need to cherish these moments and realize that they won’t last forever. Owen’s the best thing that has happened to me and taking care of him is my number one priority, because seeing a grin on his face, or even just a slight smile, makes it all worth it. 🙂

