So a few days ago I was looking for new recipes to try out and came across this one from Giada de Laurentiis. Besides it looking yummy, I wanted to try it for a couple of other reasons – I have a bunch of dry beans that I’ve been wanting to use, I love basil, and I also love Giada!! Seriously, watching her show is so uplifting for some reason.

Anyway, I made a few adjustments to the recipe, so here’s my version.

Corn and Black Bean Salad with Basil Vinaigrette

Ingredients:
Salad
1 and 1/2 cup frozen corn
1 16oz bag dried black beans, cooked
1 mango, peeled and sliced into 1/2 inch pieces
1/3 an onion, finely chopped

Vinaigrette
1 lemon, zested and juiced
2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
1/2 cup chopped fresh basil leaves
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1/3 cup olive oil
Salt and pepper

Directions:
Salad
In a medium bowl, mix together the corn, cooked and cooled black beans, mango and onion.

Vinaigrette
In a small bowl, combine the lemon zest and juice, balsamic vinegar, basil, and cumin. Slowly add the oil, whisking constantly until the mixture thickens. Season with salt and pepper, to taste.
Pour the vinaigrette over the salad and toss well. Refrigerate for 1 hour, and toss again, before serving.

*The longer the salad sits in the refrigerator, the more the flavor will soak in.

