One of my favorite things to do is to cook for Dan. I don’t know why I get such enjoyment out of it, but I really like doing it and trying out new recipes I think he’d like. Maybe because it makes me happy to see him happy….

Recently, I made a list of things I want to learn how to do. Among them was to learn how to pickle something. I decided to start off with something easy and popular – pickled eggs. Boy, there are quite a few recipes for them! When I saw the jalepeno flavored eggs I knew I should try that one since Dan and I both like jalepenos.

After buying the ingredients, making them, waiting for them, getting excited to see how they’d turn out, then trying one and realizing how delicious they were…you can only imagine my disappointment when Dan said “eew I am NOT trying one of those.”

Ok, I know they smell a little like “rotten egg farts” (as Dan likes to put it), but they don’t taste like that at all! Really!!

He still won’t try an egg, but he did eat an onion slice and said it was good! 🙂

Jalepeno Pickled Eggs

Ingredients:
3/4 cup cider vinegar
3/4 cup water
1/2 cup white granulated sugar
2 jalapeno peppers, sliced in half lengthwise, seeds removed
1 tsp mustard seeds
I clove garlic, peeled
I/4 of an onion, sliced
6 hard cooked eggs, peeled

Directions:
1. Peel the eggs and place in the bottom of a clean glass jar, quart sized.
2. In a medium saucepan, add all the ingredients (the vinegar, water, onion, jalapeno, sugar, and spices) and bring to a boil. Cook, uncovered, until the sugar has dissolved and the onions are translucent, about 5 minutes. Remove from heat and let cool a few minutes.
3. Pour the vinegar mixture over the eggs in the jar, covering the eggs completely. Secure close the jar’s cover.
4. The pickled eggs will be ready to eat after five days.

*The longer the eggs sit in the pickling juice, the more the pickling juice will penetrate the eggs. Refrigerate up to a month.

