We have very exciting news! Last night, for the first time ever, Owen slept in his own bed in his own room! Our little boy is growing up :*( AND he only woke up ONCE to eat! I woke up around 5 and was surprised to find him still sleeping soundly. Not only that, but I was surprised by how much uninterrupted sleep I got!
Though this is ultimately a very good thing, I can’t help but feel a bit sad. I know he eventually has to grow up, but I’m not ready for that yet. Just like when we started supplementing with formula, a part of me felt like he didn’t need me as much. For the first two and half months he was exclusively breastfed, then one day we decided to add formula since his weight was low. A part of me felt like I wasn’t enough – I wasn’t making enough food for him. Though I know he’ll always need me (I’m his mom), I guess I’ll have to get used to this feeling anyway. One day he’ll go off to school and then he’ll turn 11 or 12 and he won’t want to be seen with me and he’ll get a girlfriend and I’ll barely see him and then he’ll go off to college and I REALLY won’t see him anymore and then he’ll move into his own place, have his own job, get married and have his own family to look after. Oh boy, I don’t know if I’m ready for him to grow up just yet :/

